Last Week: Misty Morning & Hawfinch Disappointment

Unfortunately since my WWT Slimbridge trip, it’s been a rather frustrating week with the camera, despite having plenty of time off to get out!

An early start at the beginning of the week in an attempt to track down some local otters ended up being in vain, as sadly once I got near my destination the mist descended, making spotting anything difficult at best, let alone the elusive otters! However fortunately, I did manage to photograph a Great White Egret through the mist to rescue the trip.

A flock of wigeon took off in the distance as the sun rose.

Later in the week I made two separate efforts to track down a band of Hawfinches reported not too far away from where I live. However, despite spotting the elusive finches on the second occasion, they were sadly too far away for my 300mm lens and I only managed some very rudimentary record shots. Finding a Mallard Drake in some nice light however meant the camera didn’t have a wasted trip!

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑