WWT Steart Marshes

I had my first visit to WWT Steart Marshes today; and wow, what a place! I wasn’t quite ready for the sheer scale of the reserve, or the plethora and quality of the bird life! If only to see the Avocets feeding in the estuary (sadly well out of range of my camera), it’s well worth a trip. My main reason for visiting was to try and see a Short-Eared Owl, and whilst unfortunately, I didn’t see one this time, the other species I managed to see and photograph definitely made up for it.

Firstly, a walk to the Quantock View hide rewarded me with a Little Egret feeding at the waters edge, right in front of me.

It was even relaxed enough to have a bit of a preen and shake – losing it’s usual elegance in the process!

Walking around the reserve and to the breach point, I saw more Redshank than I think I’ve ever seen in a day before. However, they proved elusive to photograph, taking to the air as soon as they saw me walk down the footpath. The following shot was my best attempt today.

The reed beds on sight were a haven for both Stonechats and Reed Buntings. The Stonechats were remarkably friendly, and stayed sitting atop the reeds and rushes despite my presence.

Whilst watching the Stonechat, I was lucky enough to observe and photograph a female Reed Bunting gathering material from the bullrushes; however, it seems enthusiastically early to start nesting!

And finally, on my return to the carpark, a very friendly Pied Wagtail was feeding just next to my car and obligingly posed for a photograph or two.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑